Wellesbourne, Warwickshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Wellesbourne, Warwickshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Warwickshire England Gotoarrow.png Warwickshire Parishes

Wellesbourne, Warwickshire
Wellesbourne Church. St Peter.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Kington
County Warwickshire
Poor Law Union Stratford on Avon
Registration District Stratford on Avon
Records begin
Parish registers: 1560
Bishop's Transcripts: 1611
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Kineton
Diocese Worcester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Worcester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Warwickshire County Record Office


Parish History

WELLESBOURN-HASTINGS (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwick division of the hundred of Kington, S. division of the county of Warwick, 5 miles (E.) from Stratford.[1]

The name was first recorded in 862 as Wallesburam. It was later referred to as Walesborne in the Domesday Book.

In May 1140 Wellesbourne was hit by a tornado - one of the earliest recorded in the British Isles. It damaged several buildings and killed a woman.

Wellesbourne was once two villages – Wellesbourne Mountford and Wellesbourne Hastings, the two villages being divided by the River Dene. In 1947 the two parishes were merged, and are now considered to be a single village. For these historical reasons Wellesbourne has two village centres, Chestnut Square and the Precinct respectively.


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Wellesbourne, Warwickshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials (Ancestry) - (£).[2][3][4]
Wellesbourne, Warwickshire Genealogy Online Parish Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1560-1812 1560-1812 1560-1812 1560-1812 1560-1812 1560-1812
AC 1813-1910 1813-1910 1754-1910 1754-1910

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464173.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Warwickshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.



  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 499-506. Date accessed: 11 November 2013.
  2. 'Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1535-1812,', Ancestry, accessed 13 June 2014.
  3. 'Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1910,', Ancestry, accessed 1 July 2014.
  4. 'Warwickshire, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1910,', Ancestry, accessed 15 July 2014.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 6 May 2015, at 00:38.
  • This page has been accessed 1,581 times.