Welney, CambridgeshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  CambridgeshireGotoarrow.png  Cambridgeshire Parishes

Guide to Welney, Cambridgeshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Welney, Cambridgeshire
St Mary's Church Welney.jpg
St Mary's Church Welney
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Clackclose; Wisbeach
County Cambridgeshire
Poor Law Union Downham PLU
Registration District Downham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1642; For more records see Upwell
Bishop's Transcripts: 1710
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Fincham
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norfolk
Location of Archive
Cambridgeshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

WELNEY, a chapelry, in the parish of Upwell, union of Downham, partly in the hundred of Wisbech, Isle of Ely, county of Cambridge, and partly in the hundred of Clackclose, W. division of Norfolk, 10 miles (S. W.) from Downham.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Partly in Camridgeshire until 1889

Church records

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Parish registers for the section in Cambridgeshire are listed under Norfolk in the Family History Library Catalog. The actual registers for this parish are deposited at Cambridgeshire Archives and Libraries.

Non Conformist Churches

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438850.

Poor Law Unions

Downham Poor Law Union

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cambridgeshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 506-509.Date accessed and adapted: 17 July 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 11 June 2014, at 18:29.
  • This page has been accessed 943 times.