Wendover, Buckinghamshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Wendover, Buckinghamshire)

England  Gotoarrow.png  Buckinghamshire Gotoarrow.png  Buckinghamshire Parishes

Guide to Wendover, Buckinghamshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Wendover, Buckinghamshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Aylesbury
County Buckinghamshire
Poor Law Union Wycombe
Registration District Wycombe
Records begin
Parish registers: 1626
Bishop's Transcripts: 1576
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Wendover
Diocese Pre-1845 - Lincoln; Post-1844 - Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Buckingham
Location of Archive
Buckinghamshire Record Office


Parish History

WENDOVER, a small town, a parish, and a sub-district, in Wycombe district, Bucks. The town stands at the terminus of a branch of the Grand Junction canal, under the Chiltern hills, 5 miles SE by S of Aylesbury r. station. There is an Independent and a Baptist chapel.[1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Wendover, Buckinghamshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[4]
Wendover, Buckinghamshire Genealogy Online Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images






Non-Conformist Churches
  • General Baptist
  • Independent/Congregational

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241211.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Buckinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


Wendover on GENUKI


  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales 1870-2 Date accessed and adapted 11 July 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Buckinghamshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 28 January 2014.
  4. 'Buckinghamshire Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 27 January 2014.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 14 November 2015, at 23:50.
  • This page has been accessed 1,972 times.