Wennington, Essex GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Wennington, Essex)

England Gotoarrow.png Essex Gotoarrow.png Essex Parishes Gotoarrow.png Wennington

Guide to Wennington, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Wennington, Essex
St Mary and St Peter's Wennington Essex.jpg
St Mary and St Peter's Wennington Essex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Chafford
County Essex
Poor Law Union Romford PLU
Registration District Romford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1654
Bishop's Transcripts: 1715; 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Chafford
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Essex
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Wennington, is a parish in Romford district, Essex; it is on the London and Southend railway, is midway between Rainham and Purfleet railway stations, and 7 miles SSE of Romford. It has a post-office under Romford.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Wennington, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)[2]
Wennington, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
ESSEX 1654-1940 1654-1836 1654-1997

Essex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

St Mary and St Peter
Wennington Rd
Baptisms 1654-1981
Marriages 1654-1984
Burials 1654-1982: ERO

Monumental Inscriptions
EoLFHS Publications

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241363.


Poor Law Unions

Romford Poor Law Union, Essex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Adapted 15 May 2013.
  2. Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 3 March 2012.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 June 2015, at 19:58.
  • This page has been accessed 1,646 times.