West Ashby, Lincolnshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from West Ashby, Lincolnshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Lincolnshire Gotoarrow.pngLincolnshire Parishes

Guide to West Ashby, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

West Ashby, Lincolnshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Horncastle Soke
County Lincolnshire
Poor Law Union Horncastle PLU
Registration District Horncastle
Records begin
Parish registers: 1561
Bishop's Transcripts: 1561
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Horncastle
Diocese Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lincolnshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

ASHBY, WEST (All Saints), a parish in the union and soke of Horncastle, parts of Lindsey, county of Lincoln, 1¾ mile (N.) from Horncastle with the hamlets of Farthorpe and Middlethorpe.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images  via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms West Ashby Par 1 will identify available images.

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Ashby, West

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438760.

See Lincolnshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Horncastle Poor Law Union, Lincolnshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/LIN/WestAshby/

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed: 18 August 2013.



 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 22:24.
  • This page has been accessed 863 times.