West Burton, Nottinghamshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to West Burton, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.
|West Burton, Nottinghamshire|
|Poor Law Union||Gainsborough PLU|
|Parish registers: 1602|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1627|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Nottinghamshire Record Office|
BURTON, WEST (St. Helen), a parish, in the union of Gainsborough, North-Clay division of the wapentake of Bassetlaw, N. division of the county of Nottingham, 3¼ miles (S. S. W.) from Gainsborough.
The lost village of West Burton included the parish church of St Helen which was demolished about 1886 when the area became subsumed into the parish of North Wheatley, Nottinghamshire.
The remains of some buildings adjacent to the large West Burton electricity generating station and it's cooling towers cause some disturbance to the ground in the fields adjacent, the churchyard boundary forms a fence line to a field.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
West Burton, Nottinghamshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)|
|West Burton, Nottinghamshire Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives St Helen - later became St Mary & St Cuthbert Baptisms 1603-1878 Marriages 1603-1876 Burials 1603-1874 (there are 3 subsequent entries 1952-1955) Bishop's Transcripts 1627-1837
Nottinghamshire County Council
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Burton, West
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438900.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
West Burton in GENUKI: www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/NTT/WestBurton/index.html
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..
- This page was last modified on 20 March 2015, at 19:38.
- This page has been accessed 1,328 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More