West Firle, Sussex GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to West Firle, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|West Firle, Sussex|
|Poor Law Union||West Firle PLU|
|Parish registers: 1668|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1606|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Lewes|
|Location of Archive|
|Sussex Record Office|
FIRLE, WEST (St. Peter), a parish, and the head of a union, in the hundred of Totnore, rape of Pevensey, East division of Sussex, four miles South East by East. This parish is on the road from Lewes to Eastbourne. The church is chiefly in the decorated English style, with a square embattled tower: on the north of the chancel is the sepulchral chapel of the Gage family. The poor law union comprises eight parishes.
West Firle St Peter is an Ancient parish in the Lewes district of East Sussex.
The church history is available West Firle St Peter
The Parish church of St Peter has been designated a grade I listed building British listed building
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
From 1837 this parish was in Lewes Registration District
Certificates may be obtained from
The Register Office
Phone: 01323 464780
Fax: 01323 431386
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Firle, West
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464163.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- This page was last modified on 19 May 2015, at 21:45.
- This page has been accessed 1,884 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News