West Hallam, Derbyshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from West Hallam, Derbyshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Parishes

Guide to West Hallem, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

West Hallam, Derbyshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Morlestone and Litchurch
County Derbyshire
Poor Law Union Shardlow PLU
Registration District Shardlow
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1663
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ockbrook
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Derbyshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

HALLAM (WEST), (St.Wilfrid) a parish in Shardlow district, 7 miles (N. E. by E.) from Derby,Derbyshire.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Shardlow registration District GRO volumes : XIX (1837-51); 7b (1852-1946); West Hallam transferred to the Ilkeston Reistration District on 1 April 1938

Church records

West Halam parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
West Halam St Wilfrid (1538) Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1543-1912
  NONE
1630-1907
  NONE
1623-1912
  NONE

Derbyshire Record Office reference D 1224 has deposited registers Bap 1538-1984 Mar 1630-1687, 1693-1983 Burials 1623-1975, 1993 Banns 1745-1797, 1813, 1823-1976

Lichfield Record Office has deposited Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1813-1857Mar 1813-1857Burials 1813-1857 Missing 1820 for Bap, Mar, Bur

Non-Conformist Churches

Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241292.


Poor Law Unions

Shardlow Poor Law Union, Derbyshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

West Hallam on GENUKI

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, Publ. Lindon Edinburgh 1870. Date accessed: 25 June 2103.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 20:46.
  • This page has been accessed 1,090 times.