West Ham, Essex GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from West Ham, Essex)

England Gotoarrow.png Essex Gotoarrow.png Essex Parishes Gotoarrow.png West Ham

Guide to West Ham, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

West Ham, Essex
West Ham All Saints Essex.jpg
West Ham All Saints Essex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Becontree
County Essex
Poor Law Union West Ham PLU
Registration District West Ham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1653
Bishop's Transcripts: 1639; 1802
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Barking
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Essex
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Ham, or West Ham, is a village, a parish, a sub-district, and a district in Essex. The village stands between Stratford and Plaistow, it is near the North Woolwich and Eastern Counties railway stations at Stratford. It has a post office, under Stratford, London East. The chapelries of West Ham are Plaistow, Barking Road, Victoria Dock, Forest Gate, Stratford St. John, Str. ST. Paul, Street Christchurch and Canning Town are within the boundaries of West Ham. The village of West Ham also contains, Upton, Grove, the Green, and Maryland Point; as well as, the Marshes, Hallsville, Silvertown. There are a number of chapels for Independents, Baptists, Methodists, and Quakers. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

West Ham, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

DOCK = Dockland Ancestors (ParishRegister.com) - (£).[2]
ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)[3]
FSPRs = England, Essex Parish Registers, 1503-1997 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
West Ham, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
DOCK 1813-1837 1813-1837 1813-1837
ESSEX 1653-1970 1653-1957 1653-1876
FSPRs Undefined Undefined Undefined

Online images are available Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office

Essex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

Victoria Docks Essex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

All SaintsChurch St
Baptisms 1653-1950
Marriages 1653-1945
Burials 1653-1854
Burials 1864,1875, 1876: ERO
Baptisms 1950- date
Marriages 1945- date: Not deposited

All Saints Church for the Deaf and Dumb
East Rd
Baptisms 1906- date
Records with All Saints West Ham

St Jude
Stephens Rd
Built 1898
Bombed 1941

St Matthew
Dyson Rd
Baptisms 1896- date
Marriages 1897- date: Not deposited

St Thomas
Rokeby St
Baptisms 1890-1948
Marriages 1891-1948: ERO

Primitive Methodist Chapel
Marriages 1930-1940: ERO

St John's Reformed Episcopal
Marriages 1891-1911: ERO

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241361.


Poor Law Unions

West Ham Poor Law Union, Essex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Adapted 15 May 2013.
  2. 'Online Parish Register Search,' ParishRegister.com, accessed 12 March 2012.
  3. Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 3 March 2012.
  4. 'England, Essex Parish Registers (FamilySearch Historical Records),' FamilySearch, accessed 2 September 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 June 2015, at 19:59.
  • This page has been accessed 7,231 times.