West Ilsley, Berkshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to West Ilsley, Berkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|West Ilsley, Berkshire|
|Poor Law Union||Wantage|
|Parish registers: 1558|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1605|
|Diocese||Pre-1836 - Salisbury; Post-1835 - Oxford|
|Probate Court||Pre-1846 - Court of the Peculiar of the Dean and Canons of Windsor in Wantage; Post-1845 - Court of the Archdeaconry of Berkshire|
|Location of Archive|
|Berkshire Record Office|
ILSLEY, WEST (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Wantage, hundred of Compton, county of Berks, 10 miles (N.) from Newbury.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
West Ilsley, Berkshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|BERK = Berkshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£).|
|IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free|
|West Ilsley, Berkshire Genealogy Online Parish Records|
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241198.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Berkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
West Ilsley in GENUKI
- ↑ Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 608-611. Date accessed: 08 April 2013
- ↑ 'Berkshire Marriages 1538-1927,', findmypast, accessed 6 June 2014.
- ↑ 'Berkshire Baptisms 1538-1928,', findmypast, accessed 13 June 2014.
- ↑ Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Berkshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 4 February 2014.
- This page was last modified on 1 November 2015, at 17:09.
- This page has been accessed 1,729 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News