West Linton, Peeblesshire, Scotland GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Scotland Gotoarrow.png Peeblesshire Gotoarrow.png West Linton

West Linton (#773)

This is a guide to the history and major genealogical records of Scotland as they pertain to the parish of West Linton.  To learn more about how to use these records to search for your ancestors, go to the Scotland: Research Strategies.




LINTON, or WEST LINTON, a parish, in the county of Peebles; containing the village of Carlops, 11 miles (N. E. by N.) from Biggar. This parish, the name whereof is derived from the river Lyne, comprises 25,400 acres. The church is a neat and substantial edifice, erected in 1776. There is also a place of worship for the members of the United Secession.[1]

The New Statistical Account of Scotland (pub. 1834-45) offers uniquely rich and detailed parish reports for the whole of Scotland, covering a vast range of topics including history, agriculture, education, trades, religion and social customs. The reports, written by the parish ministers, are available online at http://edina.ac.uk/stat-acc-scot/.  Click on ‘Browse scanned pages’ then search the parish reports for West Linton.  Also available at the Family History Library. 

Census Records

A census is a count and description of the population, taken by the government, arranged by locality and by household. Read more about Scotland Census Records.

Click here for a list of the Family History Library microfilm numbers for the census records of West Linton.

Below is information for any known surname indexes:


Years Surname Index          
1841 941.46/L1 X2m 1841
1851 941.46/L1 X2m 1851
1861 941.46/L1 X2m 1861
1881 6086640 ( 1 fiche)

The 1901 census of Scotland is indexed on www.scotlandspeople.gov.uk.  To use it, you must register and pay a small access fee. All available censuses, 1841-1901, are indexed on this website. It may be easier for you to pay to use the website rather than access indexes through the library.

Church Records

The Established Church of Scotland was Presbyterian. Read more about Scotland Church Records.

Here are the pre-1855 records that exist for this parish.

Established Church—Old Parochial Registers

Years Covered FHL Film Number
Births: 1656-1819 1067923 items 4-5
1820-1855 1067924 items 1-4
Marriages: 16571697

1067923 items 4-5

1697-1792, 1798-1855 1067924 items 4-5
Deaths: 1657-1697 1067923 items 1-4
1697-1734, 1798-1841 1067924 items 1-4

Condition of Original Registers—

Indexed: For an index to these records, see the Scottish Church Records Index on computer at the Family History Library and family history centers.  Some records may be indexed in the International Genealogical Index. 

Births: There are no entries December 1659–August 1664, October 1686–November 1691 and June1693–March 1695. Irregular entries are frequent about 1800–1801. Mothers' names are not recorded until 1702.
Marriages: There are no entries June1659–1666, after which the entries are intermixed with other matters until 1696. There are no entries 1683–1687. No entries exist for August 1762–March 1766. Only three entries exist July 1785–August 1798; after 1798, marriages are intermixed with other matters.
Deaths: Mortcloth Dues are intermixed with other matters. No entries exist 1733–1799.
Source: Key to the Parochial Registers of Scotland, by V. Ben Bloxham, pub. 1970. British Book 941 K23b.

Established Church—Kirk Session Records

The Kirk session was the court of the parish. The session was made up of the minister and the land owners and business men of the parish, chosen to serve on the session. The Kirk session dealt with moral issues, minor criminal cases, matters of the poor and education, matters of discipline, and the general concerns of the parish. Kirk session records may also mention births, marriages, and deaths.

Here is a list of the surviving Kirk session records for this parish:

Minutes 1657–1661, 1696–1716, 1721–1728, 1730–1741, 1743–1755, 1767–1807 - with gaps
Register of Testimonials 1709–1716
Collections 1716–1738, 1742
Disbursements 1716–1727
Note: Available at the National Archives of Scotland, Edinburgh, record CH2/1304.

Nonconformist Church Records

A nonconformist church is any church that is not the Established church. Read more about nonconformity in Scotland in the article on the Scotland Church Records Union Lists.


Carlops Free Church

In 1846 a preaching station was established in the village although services had been held there before that time. The congregation built a church in February 1851, and the charge was sanctioned in 1860. The population declined due to reductions in available employment.
Membership: 1860, 108; 1900, 106
Source: Annals of the Free Church of Scotland, 1843–1900, ed. Rev. William Ewing, D.D., 2 vols. pub. 1914. Film #918572. More details are given in the source.

The extent of records is unknown.

West Linton Associate Congregation

In 1737 about 70 residents of the parish of West Linton left the Established Church and petitioned the Associate Presbytery for supply of minister, which was granted. They built their church in 1784.
Source: Annals and Statistics of the United Presbyterian Church, by Rev. William MacKelvie, D.D., pub. 1873. Film #477618. More details are given in the source.

                                                                                                     FHL Film Number
Baptisms and Marriages        1748–1795, 1808–1810                        1886482
Session Minutes                   1748–1795, 1808–1810, 1811–1852       1886482
Accounts                              1748–1795                                          1886482
List of Members                    1812, 1830                                          1886482
Deaths for                            1812-1816, 1816–1817                          1886482
Baptisms                             1817–1832                                           1886482
Marriages                             1812–1829                                          1886482
Session Minutes                   1852–1873                                          1886483
Congregational Minutes          1791–1852                                          1886483
Accounts                              1812–1816                                          1886483
Births and Baptisms              1867–1959                                          1886483
Communion Roll                    1848–1901                                          1886483
Older filming:
Baptisms and Marriages        1748–1753                                          0304671 item 27
Baptisms, Marriages, and Deaths 1812–1816                                    0304671 item 27
Baptisms                             1817–1832                                           0304671 item 27
Marriages                             1812–1829                                           0304671 item 27
Deaths                                 1816–1817                                           0304671 item 27

Congregational and Managers' Minutes 1852–1928
Total Abstinence Society Minutes 1853–1913
Roll Book 1853–1912
Note: Available at the National Archives of Scotland, Edinburgh, record CH3/307.

Civil Registration Records

Government or civil registration of births, marriages, and deaths (also called statutory records) began on January 1, 1855 in Scotland. Each parish has a registrar's office and large cities have several. The records are created by the registrars and copies are sent to the General Register Office in Edinburgh. Annual indexes are then created for the records for the whole country.

See the article on Scotland Civil Registration for more information and to access the records.

Probate Records

West Linton was under the probate jurisdiction of the Commissary Court of Peebles until 1823, and since then has been under the Sheriff's Court of Peebles.  Probate records for 1513- 1901 are indexed online at www.scotlandspeople.gov.uk.  You must register on the website but use of the index to probate records, called 'Wills & Testaments,' is free. You may then purchase a copy of the document or, if the document is before 1823, it will be on microfilm at the Family History Library. To find the microfilm numbers, search in the library catalog for the 'Place-names' of Peebles and the subject of 'Probate records.' Then click on the link to the records of the Commissariat of Peebles.

The library also has some post-1823 probate records for Peebles.  Look in the library catalog for the 'Place-names' of Peebles and the subjects of 'Probate Records' and 'Probate Records - Indexes.'

Read more about Scotland Probate Records.

Return to the Peeblesshire parish list.


  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Scotland (1846), pp. 175-197. Adapted. Date accessed: 06 February 2014.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 July 2015, at 00:03.
  • This page has been accessed 2,358 times.