West Orchard, Dorset GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from West Orchard, Dorset)

England Gotoarrow.png Dorset Gotoarrow.png Dorset Parishes

Guide to West Orchard, Dorset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

West Orchard, Dorset
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Sixpenny-Handley
County Dorset
Poor Law Union Shaftesbury PLU
Registration District Shaftsbury
Records begin
Parish registers: 1754; For more records see Fontmell Magna
Bishop's Transcripts: 1731
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Shaftesbury
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Dorset
Location of Archive
Dorset Record Office

Contents

Parish History

ORCHARD (West), a parish in Shaftesbury district, Dorset; on an affluent of the river Stour, 3 miles N E of Sturminster-Newton railway station, and 5¼ S S W of Shaftesbury-Post-town.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online West Orchard, Dorset Genealogy Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1750
1750
1750
Images
1750-1819 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[2]
1813-1829 Ancestry[3] 1813-1839 Ancestry[4] 1813-1829 Ancestry[5]
Indexes 1851-1880 Ancestry[6]

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241341.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Dorset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, publ. London and Edinburgh: 1870. Date accessed: 12 July 2103.
  2. Dorset, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  3. Dorset, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  4. Dorset, England, Marriages and Banns, 1813-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  5. Dorset, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-2001, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  6. 'Vital Records Index - British Isles - Collection List,' British Isles Vital Records Index, 2nd ed., hosted at Genoot, accessed 14 April 2012.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 23 March 2015, at 16:18.
  • This page has been accessed 864 times.