West Seneca, New YorkEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Genealogical Resources: Brief History of the Town of West Seneca
Genealogical Resources: History of West Seneca, NY
Archives, Libraries and Museums
West Seneca Public Library
1300 Union Road
West Seneca, NY 14224
| Grosvenor Room Genealogy
Buffalo and Erie County Public Library
Buffalo, NY 14203
Email form | blog
Genealogical Resources: Local histories, census records, church and cemetery records, city directories, ethnic and immigration research, African American research, published family histories, maps and atlases, military records and history, vital records, yearbooks and school records. The website includes dozens of guides for topics such as: African-American Genealogy, Canadian Genealogy, German Genealogy, Irish Genealogy, Italian Genealogy, Jewish Genealogy, Native American Genealogy, and Polish Genealogy.
| Buffalo and Erie County Historical Society
25 Nottingham Court
Buffalo, NY 14216
|Genealogical Resources: Library, Guide to Genealogical Materials, city directories, church records (many Roman Catholic parishes), cemetery transcriptions, censuses, genealogy books, obituary index to Buffalo newspapers (1811-2001), private papers, obituary request form, published family histories, list of professional researchers for hire.|
| Western New York Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 338
Hamburg, N.Y. 14075-0338
|Genealogical Resources: Surname list, locality list, 1865 Census index, journal, research library.|
Also Registrar of Vital Statistics
Janet A. Harris
West Seneca Historical Society
919 Mill Road
PO Box 2
West Seneca, NY 14224-3038
To locate additional published and transcribed records for West Seneca, New York check:
- Gordon L. Remington, New York Towns, Villages, and Cities: A Guide to Genealogical Sources (Boston: New England Historic Genealogical Society, 2002). American Ancestors online edition; At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 974.7 D27r. Alphabetical list including date founded, if a town history exists, church and cemetery sources, and if a Civil War register (TCR) exists. The codes used under Church and Cemetery are defined in the link above the listing of towns, cities and villages.
- ↑ 1.0 1.1 Erie County, New York Town Historians, Historical Societies and Historical Museums, Updated: 20 October 2004, http://wnyroots.tripod.com/index-historians.html (accessed 15 December 2011).
- ↑ Elizabeth Petty Bentley, Genealogist's Address Book: State and Local Resources, with Special Resources Including Ethnic and Religious Organizations, 6th ed. (Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Pub., 2009), 405. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D24ben 2009.
- This page was last modified on 6 February 2015, at 05:21.
- This page has been accessed 1,600 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News