West Tilbury, Essex GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from West Tilbury, Essex)

EnglandGotoarrow.png Essex Gotoarrow.png Essex Parishes Gotoarrow.png West Tilbury

Guide to West Tilbury, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

West Tilbury, Essex
West Tilbury St James Essex.jpg
West Tilbury St James Essex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Barstable
County Essex
Poor Law Union Orsett PLU
Registration District Orsett
Records begin
Parish registers: 1540
Bishop's Transcripts: 1639
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Orsett
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Essex
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

West Tilbury or Tilbury (West) St James, is a parish in Orsett district, Essex; it is near Low-street railway station, and extends south-westward to the Thames at Tilbury Fort. It has a post-office under Romford.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

West Tilbury, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)[2]
FSPRs = England, Essex Parish Registers, 1503-1997 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
West Tilbury, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
ESSEX 1546-1995 1567-1957 1540-1906
FSPRs Undefined Undefined Undefined

Online images are available Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office for marriage registers for West Tibury St James. See also images for West Tilbury Methodist church baptisms.

Essex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241360.


Poor Law Unions

Orsett Poor Law Union, Essex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Adapted 15 May 2013.
  2. Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 3 March 2012.
  3. 'England, Essex Parish Registers (FamilySearch Historical Records),' FamilySearch, accessed 2 September 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 20:49.
  • This page has been accessed 2,012 times.