Weston on Avon, Warwickshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Weston on Avon, Warwickshire)

England Gotoarrow.pngWarwickshire England Gotoarrow.pngWarwickshire Parishes

Weston on Avon, Warwickshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Barlichway; Kiftsgate
County Warwickshire
Poor Law Union Stratford on Avon PLU
Registration District Stratford on Avon
Records begin
Parish registers: 1685
Bishop's Transcripts: 1713
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Campden
Diocese Gloucester and Bristol
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Gloucester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Warwickshire County Record Office

Parish History

WESTON-UPON-AVON (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Stratford, partly in the Alcester division of the hundred of Barlichway, S. division of the county of Warwick, but chiefly in the Upper division of the hundred of Kiftsgate, E. division of the county of Gloucester, 4½ miles (S. W. by W.) from Stratford.[1]

Weston on Avon is an ancient ecclesiastical parish partly in the county of Gloucester and partly in the county of warwick.

Contents

For more information and records see Weston on Avon, Gloucestershire.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Weston on Avon, Warwickshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials (Ancestry) - (£).[2][3][4]
Weston on Avon, Warwickshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1651-1812 1651-1812 1651-1812 1651-1812 1651-1812 1651-1812
AC 1813-1824 1813-1824 1754-1849 1754-1849

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464168.


 

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Gloucestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 524-527 Date accessed: 30 October 2013.
  2. 'Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1535-1812,', Ancestry, accessed 13 June 2014.
  3. 'Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1910,', Ancestry, accessed 1 July 2014.
  4. 'Warwickshire, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1910,', Ancestry, accessed 15 July 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 6 May 2015, at 00:39.
  • This page has been accessed 1,434 times.