Whalley RangeEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Whalley Range St Margaret Chapelry was built and in operation by the year 1849. This chapelry stood within the ancient parish of Manchester (Cathedral) Our Lady, St George and Denys.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
There are some online transcriptions for Whalley Range St Margaret and as well for the ancient parish of Manchester (Cathedral), Our Lady, St George and St Denys baptisms, marriages and burial registers to which it was attached and in which it resided. Displayed below are those links to available online data located at the web sites indicated; note the ranges of years:
|LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk|
|FMP = FMP = FindMyPast|
|LBMD = Lancashire BMD|
|AC = Ancestry.co.uk|
|WHALLEY RANGE ST MARGARET Chapelry (1849) Indexes|
MANCHESTER CATHEDRAL - OUR LADY, ST GEORGE AND ST DENYS (1573) Indexes
|LOPC||1573-1616;1777-1837||1573-1616;1782-1836 - part. yrs||1573-1616;1792-1836 - part. yrs|
To view a full list for all of Manchester Parish’s (over 150) chapelries, ecclesiasitical churches, and district chapels, and to view online baptism, marriage and burial transcription indexes, visit the MANCHESTER (CATHEDRAL), OUR LADY, ST GEORGE & ST DENYS page.
Microfilm of original records formerly held at the Manchester Archives Central Library in Manchester, England. Whalley Range St Margaret's Chapelry stood in Manchester ancient parish. Original parish and chapel registers are held at the Manchester Record Office, William Brown Street, Manchester L3 8EW, United Kingdom.
Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306898. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:
- FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
- FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
- Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
- The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..
- This page was last modified on 25 October 2012, at 01:51.
- This page has been accessed 336 times.