Whaplode, Lincolnshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Whaplode, Lincolnshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Lincolnshire Gotoarrow.pngLincolnshire Parishes

Guide to Whaplode, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Whaplode, Lincolnshire
St+Mary Whaplode Lincolnshire.JPG
St+Mary Whaplode Lincolnshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Elloe
County Lincolnshire
Poor Law Union Holbeach
Registration District Holbeach
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559; Separate registers exist for Whaplode St John the Baptist beginning 1713
Bishop's Transcripts: 1562; Separate records exist for Whaplode St John the Baptist beginning 1562
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Holland
Diocese Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lincolnshire Record Office


Parish History

WHAPLODE (St. Mary), a parish in the union of Holbeach, wapentake of Elloe, parts of Holland, county of Lincoln, 2 miles (W.) from Holbeach; containing, with the chapelry of Whaplode-Drove.[1]

Whaplode St Mary is an Ancient Parish which includes West Whaplode, Whaplode Drove, Whaplode St John the Baptist, Saracen's Head, Dowsdale, East Whaplode, and Whaplode Washway within the parish boundary.

The church of St Mary was reputedly built in the 12th century.

The ecclesiastical parish of Whaplode Drove St John the Baptist was formed from this parish in 1902 from the chapelry whose registers date from 1713.


Civil Registration

This parish was in the Holbeach sub-district of Holbeach registration district.

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images  via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Whaplode Par 1 and Whaplode Drove Par 1 will identify available images.

Material deposited at Lincolnshire Archives,

St Rumbold Street

Enquiries: lincolnshire.archives@lincolnshire.gov.uk The website enables you to view a PDF file for all records held for each parish as part of continuing efforts to provide an online catalogue.

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Whaplode

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438754.

Poor Law Unions

Holbeach Poor Law Union, Lincolnshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.




  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 18 August 2013.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 9 May 2015, at 02:31.
  • This page has been accessed 2,246 times.