Whitburn, Durham GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Whitburn, Durham family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||South Shields PLU|
|Registration District||South Shields|
|Parish registers: 1579|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1762|
|Rural Deanery||Chester le Street|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Durham Record Office|
WHITBURN, a parish, in the union of South Shields, E. division of Chester ward, N. division of the county of Durham, 3½ miles (N.) from Sunderland. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans. 
Additional information: <Whitburn is an ancient parish and the church dates from the early part of the thirteenth century. A Chapel of Ease was built at Cleadon within the parish in 1869.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Whitburn, Durham Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|WHITBURN PARISH Online Records|
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
The Parish Registers for the period 1579-1936 are deposited at Durham County Record Office, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL (EP/Whit).
FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)
Non Conformist Churches
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241347.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Durham Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.
- This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 20:48.
- This page has been accessed 1,501 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More