Whitby, Yorkshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Whitby, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Hundred||Langbaurgh; Whitby- Strand|
|Poor Law Union||Whitby PLU|
|Parish registers: 1608; Separate registers exist for Whitby St John the Evangelist beginning 1850 and for Whitby St Michael beginning 1849|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1600|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
Whitby is an Ancient Parish and a market town in the county of Yorkshire. Other places in the parish include: Baxtergate, Fylingdales Moor, Hawsker cum Stainsacre, Hawsker with Stainsacre, Newholm cum Dunsley, Newholm with Dunsley, Whitby St Michael, Runswarp with Stakesby, Ruswarp, Sleights Moor, Stakesby, Whitby St John the Evangelist, and Runswarp. There are places of worship for the Society of Friends, Independents, Primitive Methodists, Seceders from the Scottish Church, Unitarians, and Wesleyans; and a Roman Catholic chapel.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online data content from chapelry registers of Whitby exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|FREG = FreeREG - free|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)|
|WHITBY PARISH (1600) Online Records|
|| 1575, 1608-1866, 1881-1882
For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Warrington-Padgate Christ Church and comprising the whole ancient parish of Whitby to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the Whitby page.
North Yorkshire Record Office has deposited parish registers Bap 1608-1874 Marr 1608-1945 Bur 1608-1946
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600, 1609, 1622, 1628, 1631-1637, 1639, 1640, 1661-1663, 1665-1669,1671-1673, 1689, 1691-1700, 1703-1862
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464236.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.
- This page was last modified on 17 May 2015, at 15:37.
- This page has been accessed 3,184 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News