Whitchurch, Oxfordshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Whitchurch, Oxfordshire)

England  Gotoarrow.png  OxfordshireGotoarrow.png  Oxfordshire Parishes 

Guide to Whitchurch, Oxfordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Whitchurch, Oxfordshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Langtree
County Oxfordshire
Poor Law Union Bradfield PLU
Registration District Bradfield
Records begin
Parish registers: 1585
Bishop's Transcripts: 1639
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Henley
Diocese Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and the Archdeaconry of Oxford
Location of Archive
Oxfordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

WHITCHURCH (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Bradfield, chiefly in the hundred of Langtree,county of Oxford, 6½ miles (N. W.) from Reading. It comprises 2180 acres, of which 301 acres are in the county of Berks, and the remainder in the county of Oxford.[1]

Whitchurch is an Ancient Parish partly in Berkshire and mostly in Oxfordshire.

Other places in the parish include: Whitchurch Tollhouse. A more detailed description is available from Genuki.org.uk.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD. This parish is part of the Bradfield Registration District.

Church records

Whitchurch, Oxfordshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

OFHS = Oxfordshire Family History Society - (£). Results delivered by email.[2]
Whitchurch, Oxfordshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
OFHS 1595-1953
1592-1974
1592-1946

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes. 

Family History Library Catalog entries for parish church records. 

Non-Conformist Churches

None

Census Records

Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464173.
To view these census images online, they are available through a number of websites for a fee or free.


findmypast (fee-based) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
Ancestry.co.uk(fee-based) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
The Genealogist.co.uk(fee-based) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
FreeCen is a free based UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.

Probate Records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Oxfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scoll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Records

Workhouse, Oxfordshire

Family History Library Catalog Entries

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

England Jurisdiction

Vision of Britain

Websites

Whitchurch in GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 543-551. Date accessed: 08 October 2012.
  2. 'OFHS Parish Records Date Finder,', Oxfordshire Family History Society, accessed 23 January 2014.

Oxfordshire History Centre

Oxforshire Family History Society

Oxfordshire

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 8 April 2015, at 22:23.
  • This page has been accessed 1,373 times.