Whitcombe, Dorset GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Whitcombe, Dorset)

England Gotoarrow.png Dorset Gotoarrow.png Dorset Parishes

Guide to Whitcombe, Dorset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Whitcombe, Dorset
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Culliford-Tree
County Dorset
Poor Law Union Dorchester
Registration District Dorchester
Records begin
Parish registers: 1762
Bishop's Transcripts: 1732
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Dorchester
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Dorset
Location of Archive
Dorset Record Office

Contents

Parish History

WHITCOMBE, a parish in Dorchester district, Dorset; 2 miles SE of Dorchester railway station.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Whitcombe, Dorset Genealogy Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
.
1780
.
Indexes 1780-1852 findmypast[2]

Whitcombe, Dorset Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
Whitcombe, Dorset Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1762-1850
1733-1862
1762-1845

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241339.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Dorset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, publ. London and Edinburgh: 1870. Date accessed: 12 July 2103.
  2. 'Dorset Marriages,' Find My Past, accessed 28 July 2012.
  3. 'Dorset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 10 January 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 9 January 2016, at 03:28.
  • This page has been accessed 1,542 times.