White Earth Indian Agency (Minnesota)Edit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png American Indians Gotoarrow.png Minnesota Gotoarrow.png Indians of Minnesota Gotoarrow.png White Earth Indian Agency (Minnesota)

Contents

Indian Tribes Associated With This Agency

Chippewa

History

The Chippewa Agency was established in 1851 to serve the Indians in Minnesota, also known as the Chippewa of the Mississippi (as opposed to the Chippewa of Lake Superior, assigned to La Pointe Agency). The Chippewa Agency headquarters was moved to the White Earth Reservation in 1872. In 1873, a separate agency was established for the Red Lake Chippewa.

In 1874, the Leech Lake Agency was established for the Pillager and Lake Winnibigoshish Chippewa residing at Leech Lake and for the Chippewa of the Mississippi living at White Oak Point. The Chippewa Agency then had jurisdiction over the other Chippewa of the Mississippi (including those at Mille Lacs), the Otter Tail Pillager, and the Pembina Chippewa.

In 1878, the Chippewa Agency began to be called the White Earth Agency. In 1879, the Red Lake Agency and the Leech Lake Agency were consolidated into the White Earth Agency[1].

In 1899, the Leech Lake Agency was reestablished. At that time, Leech Lake had responsibility for the Leech Lake, Cass Lake, Lake Winnibigoshish, White Oak Point, and Red Lake Chippewa. The White Earth Agency had jurisdiction over the White Earth, Gull Lake, Removal and Nonremoval Mille Lac, Removal White Oak Point, Pembina, Removal Fond du Lac, Otter Tail, Removal Leech Lake, and Removal Cass and Winnibigoshish Chippewa. The term "removal" refers to Indians who had moved from lands ceded to the government under the direction of the Chippewa Commission.

The White Earth Agency was abolished and the Indians under their jurisdiction were transferred to the Consolidated Chippewa Agency, 30 June 1922[2].

Records

The majority of records of individuals were those created by the agencies. Some records may be available to tribal members through the tribal headquarters.They were (and are) the local office of the Bureau of Indian Affairs, and were charged with maintaining records of the activities of those under their responsibility. Among these records are:

Many records for the White Earth Agency are in the Great Lakes Regional Archives of the National Archives and Record Administration (NARA) in Chicago and in the Central Plains Regional Archives of the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) in Kansas City[3].

Some of the records of this agency of particular interest to family historians, in the Great Lakes Archives, are:

  • Annuity rolls, 1880-1907
  • Employee rosters, 1883-1909
  • Allotment records, 1892-1915, including a list and some correspondence filed with the Consolidated Chippewa Agency records in this archives.
  • Medical reports, 1895-1916
  • School reports, 1898-1918
  • Death certificates, 1903-1907
  • School census records, 1914-1918
  • Heirship records, 1914

Records of this agency of interest to family historians, in the Central Plains Archives, are:

  • Land records, 1871-1921
  • Allotment records, 1892-1921
  • Register of families, 1901
  • Births, deaths, marriages, 1904-1922
  • School records, 1916-1922

Some of the agency records from these regional archives have been microfilmed and copies are available in the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah and through their family history centers. These records are cataloged in their collection under the Consolidated Chippewa Agency, although almost all of the records are dated prior to the establishment of that agency.

Reports of Inspection of the Field Jurisdictions of the Office of Indian Affairs, 1873-1900 have been microfilmed by the National Archives as part of Microcopy Number M1070. The reports for White Earth Agency, 1874-1894 and 1896-1900, are on rolls 57-58 of that Microcopy set[4]. Copies are available at the National Archives, their Regional Archives, and at the Family History Library and its family history centers (their microfilm roll numbers 1617730-1617731).

Annual Indian Census Rolls were taken at this agency for 1885-1888, 1890-1892, and 1894-1922. These rolls have been microfilmed by the National Archives as part of their Microcopy Number M595, rolls 649 thru 662[5]. Copies of these records are also available at the National Archives, their Regional Archives, and at the Family History Library and its family history centers (their microfilm numbers 583108-583121). These census rolls are also available online at Ancestry.com's subscription web site.

Microfilm copies of ...Narrative and Statistical Reports... for the Yakima Agency, 1907-1922, are included in National Archives Microcopy M1011, Roll 169[6], available in the National Archives system and in the collections of the Family History Library in Salt Lake City (their microfilm numbers 1724387.

References

  1. Hill, Edward E. The Office of Indian Affairs, 1824-1880: Historical Sketches. New York, New York: Clearwater Publishing Company, Inc., 1974, pp. 41-43.
  2. Hill, Edward E. (comp.). Guide to Records in the National Archives of the United States Relating to American Indians. Washington DC: National Archives and Records Service, General Services Administration, 1981, p. 155-156, 190-191.
  3. Guide to Federal Records, Records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs, Record Group 75. Available online.
  4. American Indians: A Select Catalog of National Archives Microfilm Publications. Washington DC: National Archives Trust Fund Board, National Archives and Records Administration, 1998, Microcopy M1070, p. 48.
  5. American Indians: A Select Catalog of National Archives Microfilm Publications. Washington DC: National Archives Trust Fund Board, National Archives and Records Administration, 1998, Microcopy 595, p. 51
  6. American Indians: A Select Catalog of National Archives Microfilm Publications. Washington DC: National Archives Trust Fund Board, National Archives and Records Administration, 1998, Microcopy M1011, p. 27.
  • American Indians: A Select Catalog of National Archives Microfilm Publications. Washington DC: National Archives Trust Fund Board, National Archives and Records Administration, 1998.
  • Hill, Edward E. (comp.). Guide to Records in the National Archives of the United States Relating to American Indians. Washington DC: National Archives and Records Service, General Services Administration, 1981.
  • Hill, Edward E. The Office of Indian Affairs, 1824-1880: Historical Sketches. New York, New York: Clearwater Publishing Company, Inc., 1974.
  • Historical Sketches for Jurisdictional and Subject Headings Used for the Letters Received by the Office of Indian Affairs, 1824-1880. National Archives Microcopy T1105.
  • Preliminary Inventory No. 163: Records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs. Washington DC: National Archives and Records Services. Available online.
  • "Accompanying Pamphlet for Microcopy 1011", National Archives Microfilm Publications, Appendix.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 31 March 2015, at 16:17.
  • This page has been accessed 2,352 times.