White Roding, Essex GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from White Roding, Essex)

England Gotoarrow.png Essex Gotoarrow.png Essex Parishes Gotoarrow.png White Roding

Guide to White Roding, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

White Roding, Essex
White Roding St Martin Essex.jpg
White Roding St Martin Essex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Dunmow
County Essex
Poor Law Union Dunmow PLU
Registration District Dunmow
Records begin
Parish registers: 1547
Bishop's Transcripts: 1629
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Roding
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Middlesex (Essex and Hertfordshire Division)
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

White Roding is also known as Roothing ,White (St Martin), it is a village and a parish in Dunmow district, Essex. The village is 1½ miles W of the river Roding, and 5 miles E by S of Sawbridgeworth railway station; and there is a post-office under Chelmsford. The parish contains also the hamlet of Roothing-Morrell.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

White Roding, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)[2]
FSPRs = England, Essex Parish Registers, 1503-1997 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
White Roding, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
ESSEX 1547-1882 1547-1840 1547-1924
FSPRs Undefined Undefined Undefined

Online images are available Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office

Essex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241367.


Poor Law Unions

Dunmow Poor Law Union,Essex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

White Roding on GENUKI

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Adapted 15 May 2013.
  2. Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 3 March 2012.
  3. 'England, Essex Parish Registers (FamilySearch Historical Records),' FamilySearch, accessed 2 September 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 20:48.
  • This page has been accessed 2,323 times.