Whitfield, Derbyshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Whitfield, Derbyshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Parishes

Guide to Whitfield, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Whitfield, Derbyshire
Whitfield St James Derbyshire.jpg
Whitfield St James Derbyshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred High Peake
County Derbyshire
Poor Law Union Glossop PLU
Registration District Hayfield
Records begin
Parish registers: 1846
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Castleton
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Derbyshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

WHITFIELD, a township and a chapelry in Glossop parish, Derby. [1].

WHITFIELD, a township, in theparish and union of Glossop, hundred of High Peak, N. division of the county of Derby, 1 mile (S.) from Glossop, and contains, besides the pleasant village of Whitfield, the villages of Charlestown, Green-Vale, and Littlemoor. There are places of worship for Independents, Primitive Methodists, and Wesleyans.[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Whitfield parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

FREG = FreeReg.org.uk

Whitfield Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG None None 1860-1868 None None None
FSPR NONE None NONE None NONE None

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Whitfield St james became a parish in 1846 a former chapelry of Glossop, Derbyshire and included the townships of Chunal, Dinting Vale, Hatfield, part of Padfield and part of Glossop. Derbyshire Record Office reference D2247  has deposited registers Bap 1846-1957 Mar 1846-1963 Burial 1846-1900, 1908-1927 Banns 1847-1873, 1939-1986

Non Conformist Churches

Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241290.


Poor Law Unions

Glossop Poor Law Union,Derbyshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Whitfield (see Glossop) on GENUKI

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales,, Publ. Lindon Edinburgh 1870. Date accessed: 25 June 2103.
  2. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 551-555. Date accessed: 10 June 2013.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 20:46.
  • This page has been accessed 1,527 times.