Whitley Lower, Yorkshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Whitley Lower, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Whitley Lower, Yorkshire|
|Poor Law Union||Dewsbury|
|Parish registers: 1846|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1848|
|Diocese||Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
WHITLEY, LOWER, a township, in the parish of Thornhill, union of Dewsbury, Lower division of the wapentake of Agbrigg, W. riding of York, 3 miles (S.E. by S.) from Dewsbury. In the township is a place of worship for Wesleyans.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online data content from chapelry registers of Whitley Lower exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|AC = Ancestry - (£)|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|WHITLEY LOWER CHAPELRY (1745) Online Records|
|| 1803, 1836
For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Warrington-Padgate Christ Church and comprising the whole ancient parish of Thornhill to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the Thornhill parish page.
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Non Conformist Churches
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464266.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.
- ↑ Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 555-557. Date accessed: 11 October 2013.
- ↑ 'West Yorkshire, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1910,' Ancestry, accessed 13 May 2014.
- This page was last modified on 12 January 2016, at 03:19.
- This page has been accessed 1,821 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News