Whittington, DerbyshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Parishes

Whittington, Derbyshire
Whittington St Bartholomew Derbyshire.jpg
Whittington St Bartholomew Derbyshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Scarsdale
County Derbyshire
Poor Law Union Chesterfield PLU
Registration District Chesterfield
Records begin
Parish registers: 1650
Bishop's Transcripts: 1663
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Brampton
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Derbyshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

WHITTINGTON, a parish, in Chesterfield district, Derby, with two Methodist chapels.[1]

WHITTINGTON (St. Bartholomew,) a parish, in the union of Chesterfield, hundred of Scarsdale, N. division of the county of Derby, 2¼ miles (N.) from Chesterfield. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Whittington parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
Wittington St Michael (1698) Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1650-1912
  NONE
1687-1903
  NONE
1678-1897
  NONE

Whittington St Bartholomew records suffered fire damage and baptisms, marriages and burials for 1813-1894, baptisms 1823-1863 are unavailable.  Derbyshire Record Office reference D2528 has deposited registers Bap 1650-1973 Mar 1687-1752, 1813-1977 Burial 1678-1928 Banns 1823-1863, 1895-1975

Lichfield Record Office has deposited Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1668-1859 Mar 1668-1859 Burials 1668-1859 Transcript for 1813 for all events is missing

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241298.

Poor Law Unions

Chesterfield Poor Law Union, Derbyshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John M. Wilson,Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, Publ. Lindon Edinburgh 1870. Date accessed: 25 June 2103.
  2. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 557-560. Date accessed: 27 May 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 7 July 2014, at 19:05.
  • This page has been accessed 985 times.