Whittonstall, NorthumberlandEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
WHITTONSTALL, a chapelry, in the parish of Bywell St. Peter, union of Hexham, E. division of Tindale ward, S. division of Northumberland, 10 miles (S. E. by E.) from Hexham.
WHITTONSTALL, a township-chapelry in Bywell-St. Peter parish, Northumberland; 3¼ miles N NW of Shotley-Bridge, and 3½ SSW of Stocksfield r. station. Post town, Stocksfield, Northumberland. The church was built in 1832.
Whittonstall St Philip and St James a chapelry of Bywell St Peter, Northumberland.
"WHITTONSTALL is a chapelry, township and village, the property of the Commissioners of Greenwich Hospital, to whom the manorial rights belong. It was separated from Bywell St. Peter's parish, and became a distinct chapelry for ecclesiastical purposes, in 1774, when it received an augmentation from Queen Anne's bounty. It comprises the townships of Whittonstall and Newlands, the former of which contains 1,968 acres, and its rateable value is £1,673 10s. Population in 1821 was 146; in 1831, 175; in 1841, 184; and in 1851, 198 souls. Here is a drain-tile manufactory, which is carried on by Mr. William Dinning. THE VILLAGE of Whittonstall is situated about three and a half miles south by east of Bywell. THE CHAPEL is a plain stone building, containing about 305 sittings, and was erected in 1832, from the materials of the former chapel, on whose site it partly stands. The living is a perpetual curacy in the gift of the Dean and Chapter of Durham, and incumbency of the Rev. Richard Marshall. The register of this chapelry commences in 1754. WHITTONSTALL SCHOOL was erected by subscription in 1846; it is self supporting, and under government inspection" [From History, Topography, and Directory of Northumberland, Whellan, 1855].
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections Reference number: DDR/EA/PBT/2/271 Date: 1774-1871 Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records.
The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.
Whittonstall, St Philip and St James: Records of baptisms 1774-1960, marriages 1754-1959 and burials 1774-1960 are available at Northumberland Collections Service. The International Genealogical Index (I.G.I.) includes baptisms 1774-1875 and marriages 1750-1877 for this parish, but it is not included in Boyd's Marriage Index. Transcripts of baptisms and burials 1774-1851 and marriages 1750-1851 are available at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Dept. A transcript of monumental inscriptions at Whittonstall (microfiche TN73) is published by Northumberland and Durham Family History Society and these records are also available in book form at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Department
- Whittonstall Methodist marriages 1928-1950 can be seen at Northumberland Collections Service.
- Early Primitive Methodist chapels in this area belonged to Hexham P.M. Circuit. Records for 1824-1837 are included on the IGI (listed as Bull Bank or Bethania Chapel). Early Wesleyan Methodist chapels in this area belonged to Hexham W.M. Circuit. Records for 1797-1836 can be seen at Northumberland Collections Service and are included on the IGI.
FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)
Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438894. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:
- FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
- FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
- Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
- The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.
- This page was last modified on 5 March 2014, at 01:54.
- This page has been accessed 516 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More