Whitwell, Derbyshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Whitwell, Derbyshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Parishes

Guide to Whitwell, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Whitwell, Derbyshire
Whitwell St Lawrence Derbyshire.jpg
Whitwell St Lawrence Derbyshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Scarsdale
County Derbyshire
Poor Law Union Worksop
Registration District Worksop
Records begin
Parish registers: 1672
Bishop's Transcripts: 1668
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Staveley
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Derbyshire Record Office


Parish History

WHITWELL, a village and a parish in the district of Worksop and county of Derby.[1]

WHITWELL (St. Lawrence), a parish, in the union of Worksop, hundred of Scarsdale, N. division of the county of Derby, 10¾ miles (E. N. E.) from Chesterfield. [2]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

For history of civil registration in this area see Worksop Registration District

Church records

Whitwell parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
Whitwell St laurence (1672) Parish Online Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1672-1884

Whitwell St Lawrence is an ancient parish which includes the hamlets of part of Cresswell, Hodthorpe and Steetley. Derbyshire Record Office reference D 705 has deposited registers Bap 1672- 1985 Mar 1682-1991Burial 1672-1992 Banns 1754-1774, 1906-1934, 1955-1991

Lichfield Record Office has deposited Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1668-1868 Mar 1668-1859 Burials 1668-1868 Transcript for all event in 1813 is missing

Non-Conformist Churches

Wesleyan Methodist
Wesleyan Methodist Association

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241298.

Poor Law Unions

Worksop Poor Law Union, Nottinghamshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


Whitwell on GENUKI


  1. John M. Wilson, imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales,, Publ. Lindon Edinburgh 1870. DAte accessed: 25 June 2013.
  2. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 561-564. Date accessed: 10 June 2013.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 8 June 2015, at 12:55.
  • This page has been accessed 2,233 times.