Whorlton, Durham GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Whorlton, Durham)

England Gotoarrow.png Durham Gotoarrow.pngDurham Parishes

Guide to Whorlton, Durham family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Whorlton, Durham
Whorlton St Mary Co Durham.jpg
Whorlton St Mary Co Durham
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Darlington
County Durham
Poor Law Union Teesdale
Registration District Teesdale
Records begin
Parish registers: 1626
Bishop's Transcripts: 1765
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Darlington
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Durham Record Office


Parish History

WHORLTON, a chapelry, in the parish of Gainford, union of Teesdale, S. W. division of Darlington ward, S. division of the county of Durham, 3½ miles (E. S. E.) from Barnard-Castle. The Independents have a place of worship.[1]

Additional information: Whorlton was a chapelry within the ancient parish of Gainford. The chapelry of St Mary was rebuilt in 1853.


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Whorlton, Durham Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images


To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections DDR/EA/PBT/2/273 Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records. The Library entry incorrectly refers to the parish as in Northumberland perhaps due to confusion with Newburn parish Northumberland which contains Whorlton.

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.

The Parish Registers for the period 1626-1982 are deposited at Durham County Record Office, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL (EP/Who).

Non Conformist Churches


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241351.

Poor Law Unions

Teesdale Poor Law Union, Durham

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Durham Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


Whorlton on GENUKI


  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 10 December 2013.
  2. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 11 May 2015, at 03:08.
  • This page has been accessed 1,712 times.