Wibsey, Yorkshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Wibsey, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Bradford PLU|
|Parish registers: 1674|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1661|
|Diocese||Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
WIBSEY, a chapelry, in the township of North Bierley, parish and union of Bradford, wapentake of Morley, W. riding of York, 3 miles (S. W. by S.) from Bradford. There are places of worship for Independents and Wesleyans. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online data content from chapelry registers of Wibsey exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|AC = Ancestry - (£)|
|BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|WIBSEY CHAPELRY (1730) Online Records|
|| 1730-1753, 1814, 1846
For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Warrington-Padgate Christ Church and comprising the whole ancient parish of Bradford to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the BRADFORD PARISH page.
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Non Conformist Churches
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464253.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.
- ↑ Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 564-565. Date accessed: 11 October 2013.
- ↑ 'West Yorkshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1512-1812,' Ancestry, accessed 12 May 2014.
- ↑ 'West Yorkshire, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1910,' Ancestry, accessed 13 May 2014.
- ↑ 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 28 October 2014.
- This page was last modified on 8 February 2015, at 21:13.
- This page has been accessed 1,540 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More