Wickford, EssexEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Wickford (St Catherine), is a village, a parish, and a sub-district, in Billericay district, Essex. The village is on the river Crouch, and is 4 miles N E of Pitsea railway station; it has a post-office under Chelmsford. There is an Independent chapel. The sub-district contains 7 parishes and a chapelry.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, non conformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the Family History Library Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection
Online images are available Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office See also Wickford Congregational Church.
Parish registers, 1538-1918 Microfilm copy of original at Essex Record Office in Chelmsford, England.
Contents: item 7. Baptisms, 1538-1776; burials, 1538-1783; marriages, 1561-1753 -- item 8. Baptisms, 1776-1812; burials, 1783-1812 -- item 9. Marriages, 1755-1812 -- item 10. Baptisms, 1813-1879 -- item 11. Baptisms, 1879-1918 -- item 12. Burials, 1813-1912 -- item 13. Marriages, 1813-1838.
Essex Record Office, Chelmsford, reference: D/P70/1/1-7. Parish registers FHL BRITISH Film 1526987 Items 7-13
Bishop's transcripts for Wickford, 1639-1640 Microfilm of original records at the Guildhall Library, London.
In Copies of parish registers brought in at visitations, various dates / Church of England. Diocese of London.
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1639-1640 (199th parish). FHL BRITISH Film 413721
Bishop's transcripts for Wickford, 1800-1867 Microfilm copy of original at Essex Record Office in Chelmsford, England.
Essex Record Office, Chelmsford, reference: D/CR 408.
Baptisms, burials, 1800-1832, 1840-1867; marriages, 1800-1832. FHL BRITISH Film 1702676 Item 6
Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241360. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:
- FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
- FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
- Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
- The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.
- This page was last modified on 7 December 2013, at 02:49.
- This page has been accessed 988 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More