Wickham Bishops, Essex GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Wickham Bishops, Essex)

England Gotoarrow.png Essex Gotoarrow.png Essex Parishes Gotoarrow.png Wickham-Bishops

Guide to Wickham Bishops, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Wickham Bishops, Essex
Wickham Bishops St Bartholomew contributor Peter Stack.jpg
Wickham Bishops St Bartholomew contributor Peter Stack
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Thurstable
County Essex
Poor Law Union Witham PLU
Registration District Witham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1662
Bishop's Transcripts: 1630; 1813
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Hatfield Peverel
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (Essex and Hertfordshire Division)
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Wickham-Bishops, is a parish in Witham district, Essex; it is on the Blackwater river and Maldon railway, it is 2½ miles S of Witham. The post-office is under Witham.[1]

Old St Peter Wickham Bishops Essex.jpg

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Wickham Bishops, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)[2]
FSPRs = England, Essex Parish Registers, 1503-1997 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
Wickham Bishops, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
ESSEX 1662-1981 1663-1957 1663-1985
FSPRs Undefined Undefined Undefined

Essex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

Online images are available Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office St Peter (disused) Monumental Inscriptions 1663-1836 T/Z 151/27 St Bartholomew Parish registers, Bishop's Transcripts, Monumental inscriptions and transcripts.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241376.


Poor Law Unions

Witham Poor Law Union, Essex later from 1883

Maldon Poor Law Union, Essex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Adapted 15 May 2013.
  2. Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 3 March 2012.
  3. 'England, Essex Parish Registers (FamilySearch Historical Records),' FamilySearch, accessed 2 September 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 June 2015, at 20:05.
  • This page has been accessed 3,437 times.