Willesley, Derbyshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Willesley, Derbyshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Parishes

Guide to Willesley, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Willesley, Derbyshire
Willesley St Thomas Derbyshire.jpg
Willesley St Thomas Derbyshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Repton and Gresley
County Derbyshire
Poor Law Union Ashby de la Zouch
Registration District Ashby de la Zouch
Records begin
Parish registers: 1677
Bishop's Transcripts: 1708
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Hartshorn
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Derbyshire Record Office


Parish History

WILLESLEY (St. Thomas), a parish, in the union of Ashby, hundred of Repton and Gresley, S. division of the county of Derby, locally in the W. division of the hundred of Goscote, county of Leicester, 2 miles (S. W. by S.) from Ashby. [1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Willesley, Derbyshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

PC = Parish Chest - (£). Registers delivered by email.[2]
FS PR's = FamilySearch Parish Registers
Willesley, Derbyshire Genealogy St Thomas (1677) Parish Online Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PC 1677-1812



The parish transferred to Leicestershire in 1897 and to the diocese of Leicester in 1927

Leicester Record Office has deposited registers Bap 1677-1811Marr 1677-1835, 1838-1985 (Banns until 1961) Bur 1677-1811

Lichfield Record Office has deposited Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1708-1868 Mar 1708-1835 Burials 1708-1863

Non-Conformist Churches


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241295.

Poor Law Unions

Ashby de la Zouch Poor Law Union, Leicestershire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


Willesley on GENUKI


  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 577-579. Date accessed: 10 June 2013
  2. 'Leicestershire Parish Registers', Parish Chest, accessed 25 January 2014.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 8 June 2015, at 12:55.
  • This page has been accessed 1,444 times.