Wilne with Draycott, DerbyshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Parishes

Wilne with Draycott, Derbyshire
Church Wilne St Chad Derbyshire.jpg
Church Wilne St Chad Derbyshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Morlestone and Litchurch
County Derbyshire
Poor Law Union Shardlow PLU
Registration District Shardlow
Records begin
Parish records: 1540
Bishop's Transcripts: 1675; Separate records exist for Draycott beginning 1804
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Stanton by Bridge
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of Sawley
Location of Archive
Derbyshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

WILNE (St. Chad), a parish, in the union of Shardlow, hundred of Morleston and Litchurch, S. division of the county of Derby, 7¾ miles (S. E.) from Derby. It includes the liberties of Draycott and Church Wilne, the hamlet of Hopwell, the parochial chapelry of Breaston, and part of Risley, created in 1822 from Sawley, Derbyshire Ancient Parish. Other places in the parish include: Church Wilne, Little Wilne, Draycott, Draycott and Church Wilne, and Hopwell. The earlier townships associated of Breaston, Derbyshire and Risley, Derbyshire were no longer associated with the chapelry after 1719.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

The civil registration name is Draycott and Church Wilne.

Registers are now held at
The Register Office, Royal Oak House, Market Place, Derby, DE1 3AR.
Tel: 01332 256526/35/36. Fax: 01332 256525.
E-mail: registeroffice@derby.gov.uk

Church records

Wilne with Draycott parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

FREG = FreeReg.org.uk
FS PR's = FamilySearch Parish Registers
Wilne with Draycott St Chad (1540) Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG None None 1540-1837 None None None
FS PR's






Derbyshire Record Office reference D2512 has deposited registers Bap 1540-1993 Mar 1542-2004 (but marriage entiries for 1803-1807 are missing Burial 1543-1948 Banns 1819-1897, 1924- 1949

Lichfield Record Office has deposited Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1675-1882 Mar 1675-1863 Burials 1675-1882 Missing all records for 1841, 1859. Missing 1875,1877 Bap & Bur

Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the Family History Library Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241294.

Poor Law Unions

Shardlow Poor Law Union, Derbyshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed: 25 June 2103.
Contributor: Add any additional relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 14 April 2014, at 21:41.
  • This page has been accessed 865 times.