Wimborne St Giles, Dorset GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Wimborne St Giles, Dorset)

England Gotoarrow.png Dorset Gotoarrow.png Dorset Parishes

Guide to Wimborne St Giles, Dorset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Wimborne St Giles, Dorset
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred St Giles Wimborne
County Dorset
Poor Law Union Wimborne and Cranborne
Registration District Wimborne
Records begin
Parish registers: 1594; Separate registers exist for Wimborne All Saints beginning 1687
Bishop's Transcripts: 1731; Separate records exist for Wimborne All Saints beginning 1731
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Pimperne
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Dorset
Location of Archive
Dorset Record Office


Parish History

WIMBORNE (St. Giles), a parish and a hundred in Dorset. The parish lies 1¾ mile SW of Cranborne, and 3½ NNW of Verwood railway station.  It includes the tything of W.-All Saints; and is in Wimborne district.[1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Wimborne St Giles, Dorset Genealogy Parish Register Images and Indexes
1580-1819 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[2]
1813-1869 Ancestry[3] 1813-1921 Ancestry[4] 1813-1929 Ancestry[5]
Indexes 1754-1837 findmypast[6]

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241340.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Dorset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.



  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, publ. London and Edinburgh: 1870. Date accessed: 12 July 2103.
  2. Dorset, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  3. Dorset, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  4. Dorset, England, Marriages and Banns, 1813-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  5. Dorset, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-2001, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  6. 'Dorset Marriages,' Find My Past, accessed 28 July 2012.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 June 2015, at 20:09.
  • This page has been accessed 1,553 times.