St Thomas the Apostle, Winchelsea, Sussex GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to St Thomas the Apostle, Winchelsea, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|St Thomas the Apostle, Winchelsea, Sussex|
|Poor Law Union||Rye PLU|
|Parish registers: 1651|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1606|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Lewes|
|Location of Archive|
|Sussex Record Office|
WINCHELSEA (St. Thomas the Apostle), a borough and parish, having separate jurisdiction, and formerly a market-town, in the union of Rye, locally in the hundred of Guestling, rape of Hastings, E. division of Sussex, 74 miles (E. by N.) from Chichester, and 63¾ (S. E.) from London. The town is about a mile and a half distant from the sea, and occupies a space nearly two miles in circumference, divided into squares by streets intersecting each other at right angles, probably after the plan of the ancient town. The choir, the only remaining portion of the ancient church, a magnificent cruciform structure, is now appropriated as the parochial church, aud presents an elegant specimen of the early and decorated English styles. On the south side are some stalls and a piscina of beautiful design, and in other parts are several splendid monuments, including three supposed to be memorials of Knights Templars, cross-legged and in armour, of which one, in particular, is hardly excelled by any in the kingdom. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans. In addition to the church of St. Thomas were anciently two parochial churches dedicated respectively to St. Leonard and St. Giles.
Winchelsea St Thomas a Becket is an Ancient parish; sometimes referred to as St Thomas the Martyr.
The church has been designated as a grade I listed building [http://www.winchelsea.net/community/list_build_pt6.htm+ British listed building
See also Winchelsea Wikipedia
The Wesleyan Methodist in Winchelsea has deposited records from 1795 and has been designated as a grade II listed building Wesley Methodist Chapel
See also list of places of worship in Rother
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
From 1837 this parish was within Rye Registration district, from 1935 this was incorporated into Battle Registration district
Certiificates may be obtained from
East Sussex County Council
The Register Office
Phone: 01323 464780
Fax: 01323 431386
St Thomas the Apostle, Winchelsea, Sussex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free|
|NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)|
|SOPC = Sussex Online Parish Clerks - free|
|St Thomas the Apostle, Winchelsea, Sussex Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Winchelsea
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464159.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- ↑ Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 592-613. Date accessed: 30 September 2013
- ↑ 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 30 December 2013.
- ↑ Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 3 January 2014.
- ↑ 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 30 December 2013.
- ↑ Sussex Online Parish Clerks, accessed 7 January 2014.
- This page was last modified on 18 May 2015, at 23:22.
- This page has been accessed 3,226 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News