Windsor Castle, Berkshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Windsor Castle, Berkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Windsor Castle, Berkshire|
|Hundred||New Windsor Borough|
|Poor Law Union||Not Applicable PLU|
|Parish registers: 1609; Separate registers exist for Windsor Chapel Royal beginning 1675|
|Bishop's Transcripts: None|
|Rural Deanery||Not Applicable|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Berkshire; Court of the Peculiar of the Dean of Windsor|
|Location of Archive|
|Berkshire Record Office|
WINDSOR CASTLE, (St George's Chapel) an extra-parochial royal seat in Windsor district, Berks, on the Thames, and within Windsor borough, 22 miles W by S of London. It comprises the collegiate chapel of St George.
Its origin connects with Old Windsor. Windsor Castle and occupies more than twelve acres of ground, and comprises the upper, lower, and middle wards. An apartment adjoining St. George's Hall was consecrated in December, 1843, as a private chapel for Her Majesty.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Windsor Castle is an extra-parochial place. Search surrounding parishes for records and information.
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
The following non-Church of England denominations were located somewhere in Windsor Castle, but the exact parish has not been identified:
- Roman Catholic
- Society of Friends/Quaker
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241204.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Berkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.
- This page was last modified on 6 February 2015, at 18:48.
- This page has been accessed 1,315 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More