Winkleigh, DevonEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
WINKLEY, or Winckleigh (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Torrington, N. division of Devon, 6½ miles (S. W.) from Chulmleigh. The new road from Torrington to Exeter passes through it.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Winkleigh, Devon parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free|
|Winkleigh, Devon Parish Online Records|
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241323.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.
- This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 18:51.
- This page has been accessed 619 times.
We want your opinion!
Give feedback on two US state pages by clicking on the purple button belowClick Here