Winlaton, Durham GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Winlaton, Durham)

England Gotoarrow.png Durham Gotoarrow.png Durham Parishes

Guide to Winlaton, Durham family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Winlaton, Durham
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Chester
County Durham
Poor Law Union Gateshead PLU
Registration District Gateshead
Records begin
Parish registers: 1828
Bishop's Transcripts: 1833
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Chester le Street
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Durham Record Office

Contents

Parish History

WINLATON (St. Paul), a parish, in the union of Gateshead, E. division of Chester ward, N. division of the county of Durham, 5 miles (W. S. W.) from Newcastle-upon-Tyne. There are places of worship for Wesleyans, Presbyterians, Primitive Methodists, and Methodists of the New Connexion; and four parochial schools, in connexion with the National Society. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

The Winlaton Mill Chapel transcripts at Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections Date: 1798-March 1812 Related material at DULASC: All Winlaton Mill transcripts are included with Ryton transcripts DDR/EA/PBT/2/215

The Winlaton St Paul Reference number: DDR/EA/PBT/2/275 Date: 1833-1850 Related material at DULASC:
Winlaton St Paul transcripts September 1828-1832 are included with Ryton transcripts September 1828-1850

At present Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records. It is also necessary to examine the Ryton transcripts for September 1828-1832.  Engineering work is necessary to correctly load the Winlaton Mill Chapel transcripts and correct a mistaken heading to Winlaton St Paul which reads "Alnwick St Paul".

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.

The following records for churches in the ancient parish of Ryton are also available at Durham County Record Office, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL:-

  •  Winlaton 1828-1992 (EP/Win).

FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Non Conformist Churches
  • Independent/Congregational
  • Methodist New Connexion
  • Presbyterians
  • Primitive Methodist
  • Wesleyan Methodist
  • Wesleyans

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241349.


Poor Law Unions

Gateshead Poor Law Union, Durham

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Durham Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 10 December 2013.

Ambrose Crowley [1] http://webspace.webring.com/people/lg/gv23.geo/sirambrose.html

Sir Ambrose Crowley

Ambrose Crowley began his career in the seventeenth century in Stourbridge, where his father, another Ambrose Crowley, had built up a big iron business. After his mother’s death, family circumstances changed: his father remarried and becames a Quaker. The young  Ambrose left in 1689, taking with him expertise gathered in the iron trade. He began in London, he gathers capital to invest in the North-East: first in Sunderland, then at Winlaton, on the fast-flowing Derwent (a tributary of the Tyne). Using the cheap shipping from London to Sunderland (ships were travelling in ballast) he developed in Sunderland an iron nail works. Traditionally iron nails were a Midlands manufacture.

During the period 1707-9 his undertakings in Co. Durham contained two slitting mills, two forges, four steel furnaces, many warehouses, and innumerable smithies producing a wide variety of ironmongery.

From entry for Sir Ambrose Crowley in Oxford Dictionary of National Biography:

He imports iron from Sweden and converts it to a variety of artefacts that he sends to London, where he has a warehouse at Greenwich and a shop, the “Doublet”, in Thames Street.

He went on to become the biggest ironmonger in the London, with contracts to supply all the naval dockyards.Knighthood and a career in politics followed.The firm which Crowley founded was continued by his son John and by his grandsons and lasted well into the reign of Queen Victoria, prospering from all the wars in the century following his death in 1713.


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 11 May 2015, at 03:09.
  • This page has been accessed 2,496 times.