Winston, Durham GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Winston, Durham family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
St Andrew Winston Co Durham
|Poor Law Union||Teesdale PLU|
|Parish registers: 1572|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1777|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Durham Record Office|
WINSTON (St. Andrew), a parish, in the union of Teesdale, S. W. division of Darlington ward, S. division of the county of Durham, 10 miles (W. by N.) from Darlington, on the road to Barnard-Castle. 
Additional information: Winston is an Ancient Parish in the county of Durham. Other places in the parish include: Cleatland.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Winston, Durham Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|WINSTON PARISH Online Records|
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections DDR/EA/PBT/ 2/276 1762-1844 Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records.
The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.
The Parish Registers for the period 1572-1976 are deposited at Durham County Record Office, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL (EP/Wi).
Non Conformist Churches
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241351.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Durham Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Winston on GENUKI
- This page was last modified on 11 May 2015, at 03:10.
- This page has been accessed 1,305 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News