Winterbourne, Berkshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Winterbourne, Berkshire)

England  Gotoarrow.png  Berkshire Gotoarrow.png  Berkshire Parishes 

Guide to Winterbourne, Berkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Winterbourne, Berkshire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Faircross
County Berkshire
Poor Law Union Newbury PLU
Registration District Newbury
Records begin
Parish registers: 1564; For more records see Chieveley with Winterbourne and Oare
Bishop's Transcripts: 1608
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Newbury
Diocese Pre-1836 - Salisbury; Post-1835 - Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Berkshire
Location of Archive
Berkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

WINTERBOURNE, a chapelry, in the parish of Chieveley, union of Newbury, hundred of Faircross, county of Berks, 3½ miles (N. N. W.) from Newbury.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Winterbourne, Berkshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BERK = Berkshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£).[2]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
Winterbourne, Berkshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BERK

Undefined


IGI 1565-1875
1564-1722, 1731-1885


To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non-Conformist Churches

Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288773.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Berkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Winterbourne a chapelry in Chieveley in GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 620-622. Date accessed: 08 April 2013.
  2. 'Berkshire Marriages 1538-1927,', findmypast, accessed 6 June 2014.
  3. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Berkshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 4 February 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 May 2015, at 21:24.
  • This page has been accessed 1,036 times.