Winterborne Zelston, DorsetEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Winterbourne Zelstone)

England Gotoarrow.png Dorset Gotoarrow.png Dorset Parishes

Contents

Parish History

WINTERBORNE-ZELSTONE (St. Mary), a parish in Blandford district, Dorset; 3¼ miles WSW of Bailey-Gate railway station, and 6 S by E of Blandford. Here is a place of worship for Primitive Methodists.[1].

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Winterborne Zelston, Dorset Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1540
1540
1540
Images
1540-1819 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[2]
1813-1906 Ancestry[3] 1813-1889 Ancestry[4] 1813-1999 Ancestry[5]
Indexes 1731-1880 Ancestry[6]

Winterborne Zelston, Dorset parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[7]
Winterborne Zelston, Dorset Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG
1732-1839


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241336.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Dorset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, publ. London: 1848. Date accessed: 12 July 2103.
  2. Dorset, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  3. Dorset, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  4. Dorset, England, Marriages and Banns, 1813-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  5. Dorset, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-2001, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  6. 'Vital Records Index - British Isles - Collection List,' British Isles Vital Records Index, 2nd ed., hosted at Genoot, accessed 14 April 2012.
  7. 'Dorset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 10 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 24 June 2014, at 22:38.
  • This page has been accessed 1,072 times.