Winterthur parish, Zürich, Switzerland GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Europe Gotoarrow.pngSwitzerland Gotoarrow.pngZürich Gotoarrow.png Winterthur parish

Guide to Winterthur parish, Zurich, Switzerland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Contents

Geography

History

In 1922, Winterthur annexed the parishes of Oberwinterthur, Seen, Töss, Veltheim, and Wülflingen.

Place Names

Locations within Winterthur

Altstadt
Bäumli
Bruderhaus
Brühlberg
Eichholtern
Eichwald

Eschenberg
Geiselweid-Deutweg
Lind
Neuwiesen
Ober-Alpgut
Ober-Halden

Schick
Süsenberg
Tössertobel
Tössfeld
Waldbach-Breite-Vogelsang
Waldhof

Surrounding Parishes

Kyburg
Oberwinterthur
Seen
Seuzach
Töss
Veltheim
Wülflingen

Collections

Church Records

Census Records

(see here for article describing the Zürich census records)

The censuses for Winterthur may also have been recorded under Oberwinterthur.

The following censuses are available for Winterthur:

Census Year FHL Film number item number beginning page
1643 1185146 1 1
1650 1185150 2 401
1672 1185157 1 301
1683 1185159 3 3
1707 1185169 2 29

Genealogies

(see here for article describing Swiss compiled genealogies)

The following genealogies have been researched for Winterthur families:

Civil Registration

Surnames

The following surnames held citizenship in Winterthur prior to 1875:

Related Sources

The town's website (in German) can be found here.

Societies and Libraries

Cantonal Archive of Zürich

References

Register of Swiss Surnames

Historical Gazetteer of Switzerland


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 21 February 2015, at 15:11.
  • This page has been accessed 379 times.