Wirksworth, Derbyshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Wirksworth, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Wirksworth St Mary Derbyshire
|Hundred||Appletree; High Peake; Wirksworth|
|Poor Law Union||Belper PLU|
|Registration District||Ashbourne; Bakewell; Belper|
|Parish registers: 1608|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1662|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Derbyshire Record Office|
WIRKSWORTH, a town, a township, a parish, a sub-district, and a hundred, in Derbyshire. The parish contains four townships in Belper district, five in Ashborne district, and two in Bakewell district. 
WIRKSWORTH (St. Mary), a market-town and parish, in the union of Belper, chiefly in the hundred of Wirksworth, but partly in that of Appletree, and partly in that of High Peak, county of Derby. This place, formerly written Wircesworth, Werchestworde, Wyrkysworth. There is also a manor within the parish, which has no courts, called the Holland, or Richmond, manor, granted in 1553, by the crown, to Ralph Gell. The parish includes the chapelries of Alderwasley and Cromford; the townships of Ashley-Hay, Biggin, Hopton, Ible, and Idridgehay with Allton; and the hamlets of Callow, Ivonbrook-Grange, and Middleton. There are places of worship for Baptists, Independents, Wesleyans, and Primitive Methodists. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD. John Palmer's Wirksworth website with index to St Mary's registers is engineered for searches by individual and by family. It is free and covers Wirksworth and neighboring areas up to forty miles away. 
Wirksworth parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:
|FREG = FreeReg.org.uk|
| FS PR's = FamilySearch Parish Registers|
|Wirksworth St Mary the Virgin (1608) Parish Online Records|
| FS PR's
Derbyshire Record Office reference D3105 has deposited registers Bap 1608-1994 Mar 1608-1991 Burial 1608-1978 Banns 1754-1799, 1928-1998
Lichfield Record Office has deposited Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1698-1858 Mar 1698-1837 Burials 1698-1858
A transcription project of the Wirksworth parish Registers and Bishop's Transcripts into a searchable data base was conducted by John Palmer and many transcribers, its story is here. These items were used in this project:
- Wirksworth parish registers, Derbyshire, 1608-1837
- An index 14 microfiches ISBN: 0953284409 Microfiche of original published: [S.l.] : John Palmer, 1998.
- The parish church is known as St. Mary's Church. Includes a short history of Wirksworth parish.
- Link to Transcribed Parish Records
- Link to Monumental Inscriptions
- Ince's Pedigrees 1600-1860
- Churchwardens' Accounts 1658-1727
- Parish Data not in the Parish Records 1608-1837
- Marriage Witnesses 1754-1899
Baptisms, 1608-1899 (missing 1700-1801, 1703-1803, 1706-1806, 1710-1810); marriages, 1608-1883 (missing 1695, 1699, 1711); burials, 1608-1919 (missing 1739, 1745, 1749, 1807) are available at Family History Library, the first film # is 1041042.
- Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saint
- General Baptist
- Primitive Methodist
- Wesleyan Methodist
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241299.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Courtesy of David Kiernan: Wills, Probates and Inventories 1524-1602 for this area and held at the Lichfield Record Office.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
The Hearth Tax 1662-70: Courtesy of John Palmer of Dorset
Wirksworth on GENUKI
- This page was last modified on 8 June 2015, at 12:50.
- This page has been accessed 2,283 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News