Wisteston, Herefordshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Wisteston, Herefordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Hereford PLU|
|Parish registers: None|
|Bishop's Transcripts: None|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Hereford (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Herefordshire Record Office|
WISTERSTON, a chapelry, in the parish of Marden, hundred of Broxash, union and county of Hereford, 7 miles (N. by E.) from the city of Hereford.
St Mary Marden serves the united benefice of Marden with Amberley and Wisteston. Boundary map of Marden St Mary
See also the National Gazetteer 1868 transcription by Colin Hinson
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Refer to Church records of Marden, Herefordshire
The Diocesan Record Office for Herefordshire has deposited Parish registers and Bishop's transcripts
Herefordshire Archive Service
Herefordshire Record Office
Office Tel No: +44 (0)1432 260750
FamilySearch has no microfilmed census returns for this place. Census returns for Marden 1841-1891
FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through the FHC Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
Category:England Family History Centres to locate local Family History Centres in UK
Introduction to LDS Family History Centers to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.
Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)
The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Herefordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- ↑ Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 625-629. Accessed and adapted 10 June, 2013.
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.
- This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 20:52.
- This page has been accessed 794 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More