Wixford, WarwickshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Warwickshire EnglandGotoarrow.png Warwickshire Parishes

Wixford, Warwickshire
St Milburga's Church, Wixford Warwickshire.jpg
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Barlichway
County Warwickshire
Poor Law Union Alcester PLU
Registration District Alcester
Records begin
Parish registers: 1540; For more records see Exhall (near Alcester)
Bishop's Transcripts: 1612
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Warwick
Diocese Worcester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Worcester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Warwickshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

WIXFORD (St. Milburg), a parish, in the union of Alcester, Stratford division of the hundred of Barlichway, S. division of the county of Warwick, 2 miles (S.) from Alcester.[1]

Wixford St Miliburga is an Ancient parish. The church, dedicated to Saint Milburga of Wenlock, was founded in the 12th century. For much of the late 19th and early 20th century people travelled from Alcester to the Sunday evening services in St Milburga's.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, non conformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the Family History Library Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464169.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Warwickshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 639-643. Date accessed: 09 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 April 2014, at 21:22.
  • This page has been accessed 358 times.