Wolfhalden parish, Appenzell, Switzerland GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Wolfhalfden parish, Appenzell, Switzerland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
Wolfhalden has an area of 7 square kilometers (2.7 square miles). The area is used thusly:
Click here for a geographical map of Appenzell, including Wolfhalden.
In 1650, Heiden and Wolfhalden couldn't agree about the control over the church. This led to the creation of a church in each village in 1652, making them independent.
Locations within Wolfhalden
Click here for a map showing Wolfhalden in relation to the rest of Canton Appenzell.
The parish records for Wolfhalden are now available online from the Appenzell State Archives. They are organized by volume. Click here to access these records.
Wolfhalden was established as a Reformed protestant parish in 1652 from the parishes of Grub and Rheineck. Records held by the Family History Library include baptisms (Taufen), marriages (Heiraten), and burials (Toten) 1652-1875.
Family books (Familienbuch) are available, unless otherwise noted, at the Cantonal Archive for the following years:
Volume 1 (1736) - household visitation
Volume 2 (1819) - household visitation
Volume 3 (1820/1826) - household visitation
Volume 4 (1830) - household visitation
Volume 5 (1830) - citizen family register, also available here at the Family History Library
Volume 6 (1834) - household visitation
Volume 7 (1840) - household visitation
Volume 8 (1844) - household visitation
Volume 9 (1844) - household visitation
Volume 10 (1852) - household visitation
Volume 11 (1856) - household visitation
Volume 12 (1863) - household visitation
(see here for article describing Swiss compiled genealogies)
Künzler family, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 1,183,714)
Lutz family, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 127,973; see also FHL Film 193,478)
Niederer family, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 127,965; see also FHL Film 193,480)
Sturzenegger family, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 193,485)
Tobler family, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 128,006; see also FHL Film 193,485 and 193,486)
Tobler family, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 962,837; see also FHL Film 193,485 and 193,486)
Walser family, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 193,486)
Civil registration began in 1876. Wolfhalden belongs to the Vorderland Appenzell civil registration district. Records are only available in Switzerland. For further information, contact the civil registry office at:
Zivilstandsamt Vorderland Appenzell Ausserrhoden
St. Gallerstrasse 9
CH - 9038 Rehetobel
Tel: +41 71 878 70 20
(see here for article describing the Zürich census records)
The following censuses are available for Wolfhalden. The they are cataloged under Thal :
1634 - FHL Film 1,185,140, item 2, beginning on page 803
1637 - FHL Film 1,185,142, item 2, beginning on page 601
1640 - FHL Film 1,185,144, item 1, beginning on page 805
1649 - FHL Film 1,185,150, item 1, beginning on page 479
1650/1653 - FHL Film 1,185,150, item 3, beginning on page 1317
The following surnames held citizenship in Wolfhalden prior to 1875:
The town's website (in German) can be found here.
Societies and Libraries
Cantonal Archive of Appenzell-Ausserrhoden (in German)
Registry of Appenzell-Ausserrhoden, by Mario von Moos
- This page was last modified on 28 November 2015, at 05:50.
- This page has been accessed 1,948 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News