Wollaton, Nottinghamshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Wollaton, Nottinghamshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Parishes

Guide to Wollaton, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.


Parish History

Wollaton, Nottinghamshire
Wollaton St Leonard Nottinghamshire.jpg
Wollaton St Leonard Nottinghamshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Broxtow
County Nottinghamshire
Poor Law Union Basford
Registration District Basford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1576
Bishop's Transcripts: 1627
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Nottingham
Diocese Lincoln
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Nottinghamshire Record Office

WOLLATON (St. Leonard), a parish, in the union of Basford, S. division of the wapentake of Broxtow, N. division of the county of Nottingham, 3 miles (W.) from Nottingham. [1]

Additional information:

Wollaton St Leonard is an Ancient parish in the Broxborough borough but within the City of Nottingham. Cossall, Nottinghamshire was formed as a chapelry from this parish.

The Church of St Leonard, Wollaton Road, Nottingham has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building

See also Wollaton Wikipedia


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

This area was from 1837 part of the Basford registration district

Church records

Wollaton, Nottinghamshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)[2]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[3]


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP Undisclosed


Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Wollaton St Leonard Baptisms 1576-1944 Marriages 1578-1940 Burials 1579-1960 Bishop's Transcripts 1627-1860
Nottinghamshire County Council
County Hall
West Bridgford
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Wollaton

Transcribed by Bailey, Bryan.  Memoranda Parochialia.  A Journal kept by Rev. C. J. Willoughby 1846-1854 whilst Rector of Wollaton.  A lovely little history of folk in the Parish of Wollaton, while Rev. Willoughby was the Rector, gives name of Parishioner, and dates, and service given.  Article in the Nottinghamshire Archives Ref PR 7763, and also in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 109, pages 1-29, FHL Ref. 942.52 D25

Wollaton, St. Leonard's. A transcription of Memorial Inscriptions dated from 1866, giving surname, given name, date of death, age. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Soc. Magazine, vol. 59, pages 52-57, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438907.

See Nottinghamshire Census

Transcribed by Bewley, D.A.F. Wollaton Census - Inhabitants of Wollaton December 1787.  Gives the name, and the occupation and households are shown. The original copy is part of the Middleton Collection at Ref Mi E23/42 held in the Hallward Library of the University of Nottingham, and the transcription is in the Nooinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 88 pages 52-54, FHL Ref 942.52 D25n


Transcribed by Bailey, Bryan, Certificates for Using Hair Powder Issued 1795-1978. For each Nottinghamshire Parish, gives the Cerificate no. date, surname, given name, and description. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol.127, page 1-38, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n - the original is at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref QDT 1/1-4.

Poor Law Unions

Basford Poor Law Union, Nottinghamshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


Wollaton in GENUKI


  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 643-649. Date accessed: 21 October 2013.
  2. 'Nottinghamshire baptisms 1538-1980,' 'Nottinghamshire marriages 1528-1929,' 'Nottinghamshire burials 1539-1905,' findmypast, accessed 9 January 2015.
  3. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 June 2015, at 01:38.
  • This page has been accessed 1,878 times.