Wolviston, Durham GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Wolviston, Durham)

England Gotoarrow.png Durham Gotoarrow.png Durham Parishes

Guide to Wolviston, Durham family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Wolviston, Durham
Wolviston St Peter Co Durham.jpg
Wolviston St Peter Co Durham
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Stockton
County Durham
Poor Law Union Stockton
Registration District Stockton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1759
Bishop's Transcripts: 1794
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Stockton
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Durham Record Office

Contents

Parish History

WOLVISTON, a chapelry, in the parish of Billingham, union of Stockton, N. E. division of Stockton ward, S. division of Durham county, 4½ miles (N. by E.) from Stockton, on the road to Sunderland. Here is a place of worship for Wesleyans. [1]

Additional information: Wolviston St Peter an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Durham, created in 1738 from a chapelry in Billingham Billingham, Durham Ancient Parish. Other places in the parish include: Newton Bewley.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections DDR/EA/PBT/2/280 1794-1871 Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online atFamilySearch Historical Records.

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable toconsult the original parish registers for these years and events.

The Parish Registers for the period 1759-1990 are deposited at Durham County Record Office, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL (EP/Wo).

FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Non Conformist Churches

Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241356.


Genealogy From Periodicals

Heaviside, George Coulson. An F.R.S. from Morley. History and family names of John Heaviside born 1607, and Ann nee Porter, his wife married 11 November 1643. Descendants move about Billingham, Stockton on Tees, Wolviston, Marylebone, London. with some in USA, Canada, and Australia. Surnames, Story, Wilson, Moore, Laws, Taylor, Winlow, Smith and West, dated 1607-1955. Article in Northumberland & Durham Family History Society Journal. vol. 35,no.1.page 21-24. Family History Library Reference, 942.8 B2jo v.35 no.1 (spring 2010

Poor Law Unions

Stockton Poor Law Union, Durham

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Durham Probate Records tofind the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Wolviston on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 10 December 2013.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 9 January 2016, at 05:50.
  • This page has been accessed 2,182 times.