Wood County, Wisconsin GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Wood County, Wisconsin)

United States Gotoarrow.png Wisconsin Gotoarrow.png Wood County

Guide to Wood County Wisconsin ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Wisconsin
Online Records



WI Wood.png

Contents

Historical Facts

Parent County

1856--Wood County was created 29 March 1856 from Portage County. County seat: Wisconsin Rapids [1]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Wisconsin County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Wisconsin County Boundary Maps" (1790-1961) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Wisconsin Counties see: Wisconsin Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Adams  • Clark  • Jackson  • Juneau  • Marathon  • Portage

WI WOOD.JPG

Resources

Bible Records

Biography

Cemeteries

Census

Church History and Records

Lutheran
  • Records of the American Lutheran Church, Bethel, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Court Records

Crime and Criminals

Directories

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups

Germans

Gazetteers

Genealogy

History

Land and Property

Maps

Migration

Military History and Records

Civil War

Civil War service men from Wood County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are many companies or regiments that were formed from men of Wood County.

- 5th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company D.
- 7th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company G.
- 12th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company G

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Periodicals

Probate Records

Repositories

See also a List of Wisconsin Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Archives, Libraries and Museums
County Courthouse
Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Centers for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Societies

Taxation

Vital Records

Birth Records
Marriage Records
Divorce Records
Death Records

Voting Registers

Web Sites

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 March 2015, at 15:35.
  • This page has been accessed 4,388 times.